New Mexico Attorney for Underage DWI/DUI
A regular DWI/DUI presents its own set of challenges, but if you are caught drinking and driving under 21 years of age, those challenges can multiply significantly. Well-known in the legal community for aggressive advocacy and effective criminal defense, the Law Office of Mark Keller is here to help you resolve your underage DWI/DUI.
Penalties for DWI/DUI Under 21
In New Mexico, it is illegal for any person under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) higher than 0.02%. If convicted, underage offenders may endure severe penalties, including:
- Hefty Fines
- Suspended license for at least 90 days
- Community service
- Alcohol counseling
- Jail time
- Impounded car
- Driver’s education classes
Over the years, New Mexico drunk driving laws have become extremely harsh, causing undeserved embarrassment and stress on young offenders. The Law Office of Mark Keller pushes back against the State with aggressive defense tactics, fighting vigilantly to protect your rights every step of the way.
Additional Criminal Charges
Because underage offenders are vulnerable to more charges, they can face more penalties than first time offenders. In addition to a misdemeanor or felony DWI/DUI, an officer may charge you with:
- MIP (Minor in Possession of Alcohol)
- Soliciting Alcohol
- Serving Alcohol to a Minor
- Using a Fake ID
- Traffic Citations
Underage drunk driving laws are complicated and have important distinctions for offenses committed before age 18. With an extensive knowledge of DWI/DUI law, our experienced DWI/DUI lawyers effectively navigate your case and create a strong defense to achieve the best possible result on your case.
Call a DWI/DUI Lawyer in Albuquerque, NM
Getting a DUI under 21 has the potential to significantly alter your future and disrupt your life. It is important to take immediate action to protect your rights and future. Contact an experienced attorney at our law office today and learn how we can help you fight your charges for underage drunk driving.