Misdemeanor DWI Charges in Albuquerque, NM

A drunk driving misdemeanor charge may seem less important than a felony charge, but it can still cause irreparable harm to your record and your life.

Consequences of a Misdemeanor DWI/DUI in New Mexico

1st, 2nd and 3rd drunk driving offenses are classified as misdemeanors under New Mexico law.

Penalties for a 1st time DWI/DUI misdemeanor can include:

  • 6 months to 1 year license revocation
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Mandatory DWI school, alcohol evaluation and ignition interlock for 1 year
  • Community service
  • Treatment

Penalties for a 2nd time offense can include:

  • 2 year license revocation
  • Up to 364 days in jail, 96 hours mandatory
  • Up to a $1000 fine, $500 mandatory
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation, community service, treatment, ignition interlock for 2 years
  • Up to 5 years of probation

Penalties for a 3rd time offense can include:

  • 3 year license revocation
  • Up to 364 days jail, mandatory 30 days
  • Up to a $1000 fine, $750 mandatory
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation, community service, treatment, ignition interlock for 3 years
  • Up to 5 years of probation

A misdemeanor charge will be on your record permanently, which could affect your life in ways you might not have considered, including future employment opportunities. And with your driving privileges suspended, you may find it difficult to maintain your current job.

Please contact Call the Mark Keller Law Office at (505) 842-1440 to speak with an experienced drunk driving attorney or send us a message here!

A misdemeanor charge may also create financial difficulties, which could put a strain on your family’s well-being.

Defense of Drunk Driving Charges from an Experienced DWI/DUI Lawyers in Albuquerque

When you’re arrested for DWI/DUI in New Mexico, the attorneys at the Law Office of Mark Keller will help you fight the charges and protect your driving privileges. You have rights! We are experienced Albuquerque DUI attorneys who will defend you zealously!

Contact us today if you’re facing the consequences of DWI/DUI in New Mexico.

TOP