Misdemeanor Battery Charges in New Mexico
Penalties for Assault and Battery Charges in NM
Although misdemeanor assault and battery charges do not carry the severe charges that felony assault does, the penalties are still serious. If you are convicted of misdemeanor assault or battery, you can face:
- Up to six months in jail
- Fines up to $500
- Up to 6 months of probation
There are certain circumstances within a case, however, that can increase the penalties. For instance, assault or battery on a school employee, sports official, health care worker or official carrying out his or her duties can increase the charges to a 4th degree felony.
Call the Law Office of Mark Keller at (505) 842-1440
or click here to schedule a consultation with one of our lawyers.
If you face misdemeanor assault and battery charges in New Mexico, you need aggressive representation from the experienced criminal defense lawyers at the Law Office of Mark Keller.
Assault and Battery Charges – Albuquerque NM
Misdemeanor assault, or simple assault, is the attempt to physically touch or harm another person without their consent. Threats of bodily harm or insulting language that cause the other person to reasonably fear for their safety are also considered assault.
Battery is the overt act of inflicting bodily harm to another person. While assault and battery are often charged together, they remain two separate crimes.
An Albuquerque Lawyer to Fight Against Your Assault and Battery Charges
If you are convicted of misdemeanor assault and battery, you stand to face time in prison, fines, probation and a criminal record that could affect your future.
At the Law Office of Mark Keller, as experienced criminal defense lawyers, we use our 80 + years of combined experience to build the strongest defense possible for you. Our goal is to fight to get the charges against you reduced and even dismissed.
If you’re facing assault and battery charges in Albuquerque, NM, contact the Law Office of Mark Keller for aggressive representation!