Felony Assault Charges in Albuquerque, NM
How is Felony Assault Defined in New Mexico?
In the State of New Mexico, Felony Assault is also charged as Aggravated Assault. Felony assault includes the unlawful striking of another with a deadly weapon, committing assault by wearing a mask, or willfully assaulting another with the intent to commit a more serious felony. Aggravated assault and Felony Assault are charged as 4th degree felonies and usually have the consequences of:
- Up to 18 months in a penitentiary
- Up to $5000 in fines to the State
- Up to 3 years of probation
The term felony assault is also used in cases where there is aggravated assault against an elderly person, a child, or cases that involve a particularly heinous sexual assault. Felony assault charges may be elevated to 3rd degree felony if there was substantial bodily harm or if the prosecution can prove intent to commit a more serious crime.
Call (505) 842-1440 or contact the Mark Keller Law Office to request a free consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney.
If convicted of felony assault, you may face long-term consequences like difficulty finding employment, negative family reactions, and losing your right to own a firearm in addition to immediate consequences like fines and incarceration. At the Law Office of Mark Keller, we provide strong defense for clients facing felony aggravated assault charges. Our criminal defense lawyers provide skilled and aggressive defense as we seek to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Felony Assault Attorney in Albuquerque, NM
In the courtroom, the prosecution will need to prove that the alleged assault was purposeful and deliberate. At the Law Office of Mark Keller, we will investigate every detail of your case to counter the prosecution. We may be able to argue that the assault was in self defense or prove that the evidence in your case is circumstantial. No matter the situation, our attorneys will vigilantly defend your freedom and work tirelessly for the best possible outcome.