First DWI Offense Mandatory Penalties in New Mexico
New Mexico drunk driving laws are designed to keep the roadways safe. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is discouraged through severe penalties, even for the first offense.
NM DWI (First Offense) Mandatory and Maximum Penalties
Those convicted of a first DWI offense face at minimum:
Depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, you could also face:
- Jail time (up to 90 days)
- Fines (up to $500)
- One year probation
- Community service (24-48 hours)
- DWI/driver’s educational classes
Aggressive legal help for a first DWI offense is the key to keeping your record clean.
Call (505) 842-1440 or contact us here for a free case consultation.
If the first DWI offense is aggravated, mandatory penalties may also include a minimum of 48 consecutive hours behind bars. These penalties do not reflect the costs for administrative MVD hearings and/or the cost of the ignition interlock device installation and monthly lease or education classes.
First Offense DWI Defense Lawyer – Albuquerque NM
Even for a first DWI offense—a misdemeanor—mandatory penalties can cost you a lot of time and money. If you pay all courts fees, fines, classes, etc. out of your own pocket hoping to get this behind you quickly, you still have a DWI conviction on your record, which can limit future opportunities and/or make any subsequent traffic stop or arrest worse. The DWI conviction will stay on your driving record for 55 years.
To keep your record clean and minimize the financial burden of DWI mandatory penalties, you need an aggressive criminal defense lawyer in Albuquerque fighting for you. The attorneys at the Law Office of Mark Keller in Albuquerque, NM have more than 80 years of combined experience with DWI cases. They know how to build an effective defense to help get your charges reduced or dismissed. Contact us to schedule a free consultation to discuss your DWI case.