Aggravated DWI Defense in Albuquerque, NM
Aggravated DWI Law in New Mexico
An Aggravated DWI carries all of the same consequences as a regular DWI, but has additional penalties (i.e. mandatory jail time). This is especially true for repeat offenders. In New Mexico, an Aggravated DWI charge is obtained in one of three ways:
- Refusal to take BAC test (breathalyzer or blood test)
- Blowing a 0.16 BAC or above
- Causing bodily harm while driving under the influence
Call us at (505) 842-1440 today
or click here to schedule a free consultation.
If you are arrested for an Aggravated DWI, it is important to call an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. The attorneys at the Law Office of Mark Keller will promptly gather the information from your arrest and review the evidence against you. We will fiercely investigate your arrest to ensure that your rights are protected as we develop a vigorous defense on your behalf.
Aggravated DWI Mandatory Penalties
In New Mexico, DWIs/DUIs have mandatory penalties. This means that there are penalties you will suffer if you choose to plead guilty and not fight your charges. Mandatory penalties include: jail time, attending DWI school, undergoing alcohol evaluations, installing an ignition interlock for 1 year, and serving up to 48 hours of community service.
If your Aggravated DWI is your first DWI, you will likely:
- Serve 48 hours of mandatory jail time
- Pay court costs and fees
- Serve approximately one year on probation
However, if your Aggravated DWI is a Second Offense, you will likely:
- Serve minimum of 96 hours of mandatory jail time for the second offense DWI and an additional 96 hours for the aggravated portion
- Pay up to $1000 in DWI fines of which $500.00 is mandatory
- Serve a lengthy period of supervised probation
Lastly, if your Aggravated DWI is a Third Offense, you will likely:
- Serve minimum of 30 days jail time for the third offense DWI and an additional 60 days for the aggravated portion
- Pay up to $1000 in DWI fines of which $750.00 is mandatory
An Aggravated DWI carries life-altering penalties. You may feel that your job, your family, and your future are on the line. At the Law Office of Mark Keller, our best Albuquerque DWI lawyers can build a strong defense on your behalf to minimize these penalties when possible.
The Aggressive Legal Defense you Need for your Aggravated DWI in New Mexico
Because the stakes are so high in an Aggravated DWI arrest, you need the best DWI lawyer you can find. The Law Office of Mark Keller will fight tirelessly for your defense in court and can guide you through the administrative procedures of an aggravated drunk driving charge. Contact one of our experienced attorneys to discuss your unique situation.
If you are arrested for Aggravated DWI, you will need an aggressive, experienced DWI attorney to protect your rights and freedom. The Law Office of Mark Keller is dedicated to providing our clients the proactive, aggressive representation that makes a strong, successful defense. Contact us if you or a family member is being charged with a DWI & is under 21 years of age.
At the Law Office of Mark Keller, we are seasoned in building strong Aggravated DWI defenses. We can assess the circumstances of your Aggravated DWI and provide the strong representation you need to fight your charges.